The areas are quite broad and consist of:

Creative Development – finding ways of communicating using shape, texture and colour, sound, movement and stories.

Communication, Language and Literacy – being able to communicate with each other, developing skills with talking, listening, writing and reading.

Mathematical development – measurement of shape, space and quantity around numbers.

Knowledge and understanding of the world – investigating and beginning to understand things, people and places.

Physical development – is about improving control and
co-ordination while handling equipment and learning to move.

Personal, Social and Emotional Development – becoming independent and confident, learning to share and enjoy being
part of a group.



Question Mark

Personal development


There are no tests to measure these skills and teachers are not concerned if children show more aptitude or progress faster in some areas rather than in others. Only when children show no progress in some or any areas, do warning bells sound.


It has been shown however that children learn best through play or by example, if they are used to hearing their parents use certain words and phrases then they are likely to use them too.


Stories are an ideal way for children to learn a broader range of skills and begin to understand how to treat others and appreciate right from wrong, good from bad.

It is important not to embed these ideas but to encourage children, however young, to express themselves as freely and imaginatively as possible.

The Antons offer a way to develop these skills.


There are six official main areas, or goals, for children’s learning which do not necessarily take note of their broader education and development.

Education committees for the various councils are charged with achieving these 6 goals by the end of what is known as Foundation Stage or reception, at school.

The intention is to prepare them for working at Key Stage 1 at primary school.